South Dakota Opioid Resource Hotline 1-800-920-4343

The South Dakota Department of Health has received a grant through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Prescription Drug Overdose: Data-Driven Prevention Initiative in response to the growing national problem of opioid drug abuse. As part of the grant, the Department of Health will be appointing a Prescription Opioid Abuse Advisory Committee to review opioid use data for the state and develop strategies for preventing prescription opioid misuse and abuse.

Advisory Committee Members

  • Tom Martinec, South Dakota Department of Health, Chair
  • Kristen Bunt, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations
  • Sara DeCoteau, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation
  • Maureen Deutscher, Family Representative
  • Chris Dietrich, MD, South Dakota State Medical Association
  • Margaret Hansen, South Dakota Board of Medical & Osteopathic Examiners
  • Amy Hartman, Volunteers of America – Dakotas
  • Amy Iversen-Pollreisz, South Dakota Department of Social Services
  • Brian Zeeb, South Dakota Office of Attorney General
  • Steve Lee, South Dakota Pharmacists Association
  • Jon Schuchardt, PharmD, Great Plains Indian Health Services
  • Kari Shanard-Koenders, South Dakota Board of Pharmacy
  • Senator Jim White, Huron

For more information about the advisory committee and upcoming meetings, visit the committee’s website.